on air now

Steve Smith wins back to back Allan Border Medals

Article image for Steve Smith wins back to back Allan Border Medals


Steve Smith has claimed Australian cricket’s highest individual honour, winning the Allan Border Medal for the second year in a row.

Smith was the clear winner ahead of runner-up David Warner and third-placed Nathan Lyon, with the Aussie captain also taking out Test Player of the Year.

David Warner was named the ODI Player of the Year for the second year in succession, while Aaron Finch won the T20I Player of the Year Award.

Ellyse Perry took out the Belinda Clark Award for Women’s Player of the Year at the award ceremony in Melbourne.

The Allan Border Medal awards ceremony began in 2000 and sees players, umpires and the media vote on a 3-2-1 basis for each match.

Former captain Ricky Ponting was inducted into the Cricket Australia Hall of Fame.


Macquarie National News