Steve Smith dismissed in controversial fashion at the SCG
Australia captain Steve Smith has been dismissed in controversial fashion at the SCG.
With the Aussies requiring 303 runs to win – and avoid a series defeat – a lot of the task fell on Smith’s shoulders.
But the match turned when Smith edged a ball to the keeper off Mark Wood on 45.
The umpire’s call was that it carried to Jos Buttler, with TV replays proving largely inconclusive.
The umpire’s call on the field stood, but Test legends Glenn McGrath and Ian Chappell weren’t happy with how the situation unfolded.
Click PLAY to hear the drama
The decision split cricket fans:
I think that’s a fair call. Out it is. Let the game keep moving. #AUSvENG
— Yung (@IamYung78) January 21, 2018
— Cheyne Webster (@CheyneWebster21) January 21, 2018
I thought Buttler got his glove under the ball. Inconclusive at best. Either way it’s out. #AusvEng
— Simon Morawetz (@SYMorawetz) January 21, 2018
— Slightly Unamused (@theiaofseed) January 21, 2018
That was a disgraceful umpiring decision to give Smithy out! Keeper clearly grassed that catch! #AUSvENG
— John Garis (@JohnnyGaris) January 21, 2018