Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap WATCH to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LISTEN to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LATEST NEWS to start the live stream.

on air now

Create a 4BC account today!

You can now log in once to listen live, watch live, join competitions, enjoy exclusive 4BC content and other benefits.

Joining is free and easy.

You will soon need to register to keep streaming 4BC online. Register an account or skip for now to do it later.


Ash Barty wins ‘The Don’ award

Article image for Ash Barty wins ‘The Don’ award

Tennis player Ash Barty has taken out the most prestigious award in Australian sport.

The 23-year-old was presented with ‘The Don Award’ at the 35th Sport Australia Hall of Fame Awards in Melbourne on Thursday night.

Barty is the first female tennis player to claim the honour, named after the great Donald Bradman and presented to the athlete who most inspired the nation.

2019 saw Barty win her maiden Grand Slam title at the French Open and become the first female Australian world-number-one since 1976.

2019 ‘The Don’ award finalists
Dylan Alcott OAM – Tennis
Ashleigh Barty – Tennis
Cooper Cronk – Rugby League
Caleb Ewan – Cycling
Stephanie Gilmore – Surfing
Craig Lowndes OAM – Motor Racing
Tim Paine – Cricket
Ellyse Perry – Cricket
Ariarne Titmus – Swimming

The vibrant young Queenslander spoke to Macquarie Sports Radio Nights after winning the award, saying she’s enjoying the ride.

“It’s been an incredible year, an incredible journey for me and I’m just extremely lucky and humbled to be sharing a room with so many Australian sporting greats,” Barty tells Christian Jantzen.

Click PLAY below to hear the full interview

Also on the night, wheelchair racer Louise Sauvage became the first Paralympian to be elevated to legend status in the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

The nine-time gold medallist is the 41st legend of Australian sport.

Seven other Australian athletes were inducted into Hall of Fame; Dennis Cometti AM, Matt Cowdrey OAM, Russell Mark OAM, Robbie McEwen AM, Stephanie Rice OAM, Cheryl Salisbury and Emma Snowsill OAM.

Wonder mare Winx and her connections were presented with the ‘Spirit of Sport’ Award.


Image: Getty/Graham Denholm 

Macquarie National News