Sally Pearson: Qld's best athlete

4BC Sports Today: Sally Pearson has swept the floor at the state and national sports awards nights, winning Queensland Sports Star of the year and Australia’s Best Female Athlete of the year.

Pearson’s 2012 London Olympics team mates also dominated key awards in both awards nights.

Overall, women provided half the 15 winners on the night and half the six Hall of Fame inductees, with Olympic gold medalists in cyclist Sara Carrigan, swimmer Jodie Henry and hockey’s Nikki Hudson joining footballers the late Graham Cooke (rugby union), the late Jim Craig (rugby league) and former Socceroo Craig Moore as the newest members of the 166 strong Hall of Fame.

The late, great rugby league forward Arthur Beetson was elevated as the 12th Legend of Queensland Sport joining the 1st X1 Legends installed last year.

Paralympic gold medal winning swimmer Brenden Hall won The Courier-Mail McDonald’s Queensland Athlete with a Disability Award while new ARL Commission Chairman John Grant was named the OAMPS Queensland Sport Administrator of the Year.

Sally Pearson’s coach Sharon Hannan won the Queensland Government sponsored Coach of the Year Award while ground breaking AFL goal umpire Chelsea Roffey was the Konica Minolta Queensland Sport Officiator of the Year.

The Queensland Men’s Under 21 Table Tennis team was the Queensland Government Junior Sport Team of the Year, Little Athletics’ Graeme Smith was named Brisbane City Council Queensland Sport Volunteer of the Year while the Brisbane International Tennis tournament in January was named the BCEC Queensland Sport Event of the Year.

QSport Service to Sport Awards were awarded to canoeing’s Sallyanne Gardner, swimming’s Julie McGinley, golf’s Barry Shepherd and cycling’s Mike Victor.

The Queensland Sport Awards are conducted each year by QSport as the industry peak body for sport in Queensland which also coordinates the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame.

2012 Queensland sport awards recipients

The Queensland Sports Tar of the Year: Sally Pearson

Junior Sports Star of the Year: Brittany Broben

Sports Team of the Year: Australian Women’s Olympic 4x100m Freestyle Swimming Relay Team

Coach of the Year: Sharon Hannan (athletics)

Athlete with a Disability Award: Brenden Hall (swimming)

Sport Event of the Year: Brisbane International (tennis)

Sports Officiator of the Year: Chelsea Roffey (AFL goal umpire)

Sport Volunteer of the Year: Graeme Smith (Little athletics)


Be the first to comment.

Make a comment

You are logged in as [Logout]

All information entered below may be published.

Error: Please enter your screen name.

Error: Your Screen Name must be less than 255 characters.

Error: Your Location must be less than 255 characters.

Error: Please enter your comment.

Error: Your Message must be less than 300 words.

Post to

You need to have read and accepted the Conditions of Use.

Thank you

Your comment has been submitted for approval.

Comments are moderated and are generally published if they are on-topic and not abusive.